A Brief History

The South had produced players of repute but they had been few and far between. The root cause for this was the absence of a coordinated system to promote golf at the grassroot level and in identifying and developing talent to levels of excellence.

Recognising this deficit, in 2002, the Indian Golf Union (IGU) and a few proactive members from South India got together and established a "South Zone Junior Golf Development Program" with the express aim of generating more junior golfers and to help improve the standard of Golf among juniors in the South of India.

The program was launched with a "Coaching Camp for Excellence" in the same year. Subsequently golf clubs were encouraged to initiate their own Junior Golf Programs which then led to them conducting Junior Golf Tournaments. Starting with One (1) Tournament in 2003 the circuit has now grown to atleast Ten (10) per year. These tournaments enabled the administrators at the South Zone Junior Golf Program to create a Merit List, from which players with potential were identified and selected for "Elite Coaching Camps" which helps them join and compete on the larger and more competitive National Junior Golf Circuit.

An interactive website was launched in 2005 for information dissipation and gathering.

As a means to ensure commonality in teaching across the region, seminars for coaches were introduced in 2006 and have proved to be a grand success.

The program continues to grow and many golfers from the south are now ranked at the national level. Some have held the No.1 rank at the national level and have represented the country in the junior and amateur teams bringing laurels to the nation. Anirban Lahiri, a product of the program, was the No.1 ranked professional in India in 2009 and has also made a mark on the Asian tour.

Core Team

Mr.Dilip Thomas Mr.Ishwar Achanta Mr.C.S. Subramanian Mr.Paramjit Singh

Partner Clubs

BGC, Bangalore Champion Reef, Bangalore Clover Greens, Bangalore Eagleton, Bangalore
KGA, Bangalore MGC, Chennai CGL, Coorg APGU, Hyderabad
KGC, Kodaikanal JWGC, Mysore OGC, Ooty HGA, Hyderabad